Defence Institute of Advanced Technology, Pune


Established u/s 3 of the UGC act 1956. 

MHRD, Government of India  has placed DIAT (DU) in Category 'A' Deemed University  & 'NAAC' and NBA Accredited

(An Autonomous Organization, Department of Defence Research & Development, Ministry of Defence, Govt. of India)

Ramachandra Rao

Prof. P. Ramachandra Rao

(b. 21 Mar 1942  d.24.01.2010)
Former Vice Chancellor


Educational Qualification: M.Sc.,(Phy)., M.Sc., (Met)., Ph.D (Met)


  • Lecturer & Reader in Metallurgical Engineering and Professor of Materials Science, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi 1964-92
  • Director, National Metallurgical Laboratory, CSIR, Jamshedpur, 1992-2002
  • Vice Chancellor, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, 2002-2005
  • Director/Vice Chancellor, Defence Institute of Advanced Technology,  (Deemed University), Pune. 2005-2007
  • Raja Ramanna Fellow DAE, International Centre for Powder Metallurgy and other Novel Materials (ARCI), Hyderabad, 2007-2010


Research Experience

  • Nearly 45 years of research experience in the area of Rapid Solidification of Metals, Thermodynamics of Alloys, Phase Transformations and Biomimetics. 28 years of teaching experience as Lecturer & Professor in Metallurgical Engineering and Materials Science. Published about 230 technical papers in national and international journals and contributed articles to books. Holds 20 Patents, both Indian and American.

Research Guidance
  • 14 students were guided for their Doctoral work. Many of them are now occupying prestigious positions and have won recognitions at the national level.


Fellow of:  

  • Indian National Science Academy;
  • The National Academy of Sciences;
  • Indian Academy of Sciences;
  • Indian National Academy of Engineering;
  • The Institution of Engineers (India);
  • The Institute of Materials, Minerals & Mining (London) UK;
  • Third World Academy of Sciences, Italy;
  • Maharashtra Academy of Science;
  • Indian Institute of Metals
  • Member/Life Member of:
  • Materials Research Society of India
  • Indian Science Congress Association
  • Materials Research Society, USA


Served as:

  • President, The Asia-Pacific Academy of Materials (APAM), India Chapter
  • President, Indian Institute of Metals
  • Sectional President, Materials Science Section, Indian Science Congress
  • Vice President, Materials Research Society of India



  • National Metallurgist’s Day Award, Ministry of Steel & Mines, Govt. of India, 1979;
  • Intercosmos Medal, USSR 1984;
  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, CSIR 1985;
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, Metallurgy Department, BHU 1994;
  • Indian National Science Academy Prize for Materials Science 1997;
  • VASVIK Award 1997;
  • Om Prakash Bhasin Award 1998;
  • Distinguished Lecturership Award, Materials Research Society of India, 1999-2001;
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, Indian Institute of Science 2001;
  • Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI), 1999-2000;
  • MRSI-ICSC Superconductivity & Materials Science Prize, MRSI, 2002;
  • Layola Ratna – Awarded by Andhra Layola College, Vijayawada 2003;
  • National Metallurgist Award, Ministry of Steel & Mines, Govt. of India, 2004;
  • MRSI-ICSC Superconductivity & Materials Science Sr. Award, MRSI, 2005;
  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Gold Medal, INSA, 2005;
  • Dr.Ramineni Foundation (USA) Vishishta Puraskar, 2007



  • Platinum Jubilee Lecturer (1993), Materials Science Section, Indian Science Congress, Goa
  • Dr. S. Roy Memorial Lecturer (1993), Jadavpur University, Calcutta
  • Golden Jubilee Commemoration Lecturer (1996), Dept of Metallurgy, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
  • 22nd Bhaikaka Memorial Lecturer (1996), The Institution of Engineers (India), Bangalore
  • Prof. Brahm Prakash Memorial Lecturer (1996), Indian Institute of Metals, Trivandrum
  • Prof. A. K. Seal Memorial Lecturer (1997), Indian Institute of Metals, Calcutta
  • Prof. Daya Swarup Memorial Lecturer (1998), Indian Institute of Metals, Bangalore
  • Professor N.P. Gandhi Memorial Lecturer (2004) of The Indian Institute of Metals.