Defence Institute of Advanced Technology, Pune


Established u/s 3 of the UGC act 1956. 

MHRD, Government of India  has placed DIAT (DU) in Category 'A' Deemed University  & 'NAAC' and NBA Accredited

(An Autonomous Organization, Department of Defence Research & Development, Ministry of Defence, Govt. of India)

Hon'ble Chancellor


Shri Manohar Parrikar
Hon'ble Chancellor, DIAT (DU), Pune
Raksha Mantri, Government of India, 104, South Block, New Delhi
Phone: 011 - 23366744, 23012286, 23019030
Fax: 011 - 23015403


Manohar Gopalkrishna Prabhu Parrikar is an Indian politician from the Bharatiya Janata Party who is the current Defence Minister of India. Before being inducted into the Council of Ministers of the Union Government on 9 November 2014, he served as the Chief Minister of Goa, first from 2000 to 2005 and later from March 2012 to November 2014. He is a member of the Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh.

Manohar Parrikar was born in Mapusa Goa.  13th December 1955. He studied at Loyola High School, Margao. He completed his secondary education in Marathi and went on to graduate in metallurgical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay (IIT Bombay) in 1978. He is the first IIT graduate to serve as Chief Minister of an Indian state. He was awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2001 by IIT Bombay. His wife Medha Parrikar died of cancer in 2001. He has two sons.

Parrikar joined the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) at a young age and became a mukhya shikshak (chief instructor) in the final years of his schooling. After graduating from IIT, he resumed RSS work in Mapusa while maintaining a private business, and became a sanghchalak (local director) at the age of 26. He was active in the RSS's North Goa unit, becoming a key organiser of the Ram Janmabhoomi movement. He was seconded by RSS to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) with the objective of fighting the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party. Parrikar has often expressed considerable pride of his RSS background, saying that he learnt "discipline, progressiveness, gender equality, equality of all before the law, nationalism and social responsibility from the RSS". He is sometimes described as having been a pracharak of the RSS.

As a member of the BJP, Parrikar was elected to the Legislative Assembly of the State of Goa in 1994. He was leader of the opposition from June to November 1999. He successfully contested the election to become Chief Minister of Goa for the first time on 24 October 2000, but his tenure would last only till 27 February 2002. In 2001, the Parrikar government turned over fifty-one government primary schools in rural areas to Vidya Bharati, the educational wing of the Sangh Parivar, inviting criticism from certain educationists. On 5 June 2002, he was re-elected and would serve another term as Chief Minister.

On 29 January 2005, his government was reduced to a minority in the Assembly after four BJP MLAs resigned from the House. Pratapsinh Rane of the Indian National Congress would subsequently replace Parrikar as Chief Minister. In 2007, the Parrikar-led BJP was defeated in the Goa state elections by the Indian National Congress led by Digambar Kamat. His party became victorious once again after the BJP and their party-allies won twenty-four seats against the Indian National Congress' nine in the Goa Assembly Elections held in March 2012. The BJP showed an impressive performance in the 2014 General Elections, winning both Lok Sabha seats in Goa. The Archbishop is said to have played a crucial role in bringing the BJP to power in the March 2012 assembly election.

Parrikar was reluctant to leave Goa and move to Delhi in November of 2014, by his own admission. The relationship between the Archbishop and by then former Chief minister Parrikar was such that Parrikar had sought the blessings of Goa's Archbishop Filipe Ner before leaving to take up his assignment as Defence Minister, in New Delhi. But Prime Minister Narendra Modi had high regard for Parrikar's abilities and persuaded him to join the Central Government. He was succeeded by Laxmikant Parsekar as Goa's CM. Parrikar had represented the Panaji constituency in the Goa Legislative Assembly when he was a player in the state politics.